Six coup conspirators sentenced to dead by hanging (Details)


- Advertisement -

The High Court found six people guilty of both committing high treason and conspiring to commit high treason, despite their alleged involvement in a coup.

They received the sentence on January 24.

Donya Kafui, also known as Ezor, a blacksmith, and Bright Alan Debrah Ofosu, a fleet manager, were found guilty of conspiracy to commit treason and treason, respectively, while Johannes Zikpi, a civilian employee of the Ghana Armed Forces, was found guilty of conspiracy to commit high treason. The six individuals, including three soldiers, were found guilty of both counts.

Benjamin Agordzo, Assistant Commissioner of Police, Colonel Samuel Kodzo Gameli, and Corporal Seidu Abubakar, a junior military officer, have also been found not guilty by the court.


Dr. Frederick Yao Mac-Palm, the Chief Executive Officer of Citadel Hospital (now deceased) and ACP Dr. Agordzo together with eight others were charged variously on April 24, 2021, for conspiracy to high treason, abetment to high treason and high treason.

Dr Mac Palm (A1- now Deceased), Donya Kafui alias Ezor (A2), Bright Allan Debrah Ofosu alias Bright Alan Yeboah (A3), Yohannes Zikpi (A4), Warrant Officer Class Two Esther Saan Dekuwine (A6), Cpl Seidu Abubakar (A7), Lance Corporal Ali Solomon (A8) and Cpl Sylvester Akanpewon (A9) were charged for conspiracy to commit high and high treason.

Col. Samuel Kodzo Gameli (A5) and ACP Dr Benjamin Agordzo (A10) have each been charged for abetment.

All 10 accused (then) pleaded not guilty and have been granted bail while standing trial.

Dr. Mac-Palm (A1), who was testifying at the time, passed away, and the records were cleared of his testimony.

The prosecution was led by the Godfred Yeboah Dame of the Attorney-General’s (AG) Department. The team also includes Ms. Lawrencia Adika, State Attorney, Mrs. Yvonne Atakora Obuobisa, Director of Public Prosecution, Principal State Attorney (PSA) Hilda Craig, Winifred Sarpong, PSA, and Assistant State Attorney Akosua Agyapomaa Agyemang.

The defence team included Ms. Rita Akukunti Ali, a Legal Aid attorney, who represented Bright Allan Debrah Fosu, the third accused, along with Osei Kwabena and Linda Elikem Mensah.

Attorneys Anthony Lartey and Eric Kpongo are representing Col. Samuel Kodzo Gamelie, the fourth accused, while Victor Kodjogah Adawudu is representing Donya Kafui alias Ezor (A2), CPL Seidu Abubakar (A7), LAC Ali Solomon (A8), and CPL Sylvester Akanpewon (A9).

As the attorneys for Esther Saan Dekuwine, the sixth accused, Lamptiig Apanga is accompanied by Matthias Yir-Eru. Attorneys Ephraim A. Vordoagu and Maud Opoku represented Dr. Mac-Palm until his death, and Attorney Kormivi Dzotsi, under the direction of Martin Kpebu, is the legal representative of ACP Benjamin Agordzo, the tenth accused. After their client’s death was formally reported to the Court, they were let go.

Justice Stephen Oppong, Justice Hafisata Amaleboba, and Justice Afia Serwah Asare-Botwe comprised the three-person panel of judges. Presently serving as additional High Court judges are all Justices of the Court of Appeal.

The president of the panel is Justice Asare-Botwe.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.